Library Card Information
If you have issues connecting to the Online Catalog, please contact the Library by phone or through Contact Us if you need assistance.
Getting a Library Card
Getting a Mooresville Public Library card is easy and can be completed during your first visit to the library. To apply, you must present one of the following:
. North Carolina Driver's License or Identification Card that includes a current address;
. Driver's License or Identification Card AND proof of address in North Carolina (rental agreement, mail, etc.); or
. Official Photo Identification (Passport, College ID, Work ID) AND proof of address in North Carolina.
Adults who reside outside of Iredell County may purchase a library card for $20.00 per year.
Teens age 13 - 17 may apply for a library card with or without a photo identification. If a teen does not have a photo ID, then a letter is mailed to their legal guardian informing them that a card has been issued.
Children age 0 - 12 may have a library card in their name. A parent or legal guardian may apply for a library card for their child and must be present when the card is issued.
Lost Library Cards
Lost or Stolen Library Cards can be replaced for a fee of $1.00.
Guest passes for computer use can be purchased for $2.00. A guest pass grants two hours of computer use in a single day.
Loan Periods & Fees
New library patrons may borrow five items during their first visit to the library. All other patrons may have a maximum of 35 items checked out on their library card at any given time.
Cardholders may renew items if no one else has reserved the item. If there are reserves on the item, it may not be renewed. Items may be renewed only for two additional loan periods. Items may be renewed in person, by phone at 704-663-1701, or online.
As a courtesy, the library notifies patrons about overdue materials through a telemessaging system. Three and seven days after an item is due calls are placed to the patron phone number on file. The maximum fine incurred on each overdue item is $10.
Materials that are overdue for 28 days are classified as "Lost" and the full replacement price is charged to the patron's library account. "Lost" items may be returned for credit/refund if they are in usable condition and returned within one year, if accompanied by a receipt.
To check out materials or use the public computers, library fees may not exceed $5. Patron accounts with unpaid balances over $25 are sent to a debt collection agency 50 days after materials are due and not returned. An additional collection fee of $10.00 is added to their account. After three months, unsettled accounts are reported to a credit bureau.
Special Note: The library charges fines to encourage the return of library materials so that other library patrons may use them. Our primary goal is getting materials returned - no matter how long they have been checked out. Library staff will work with patrons to settle past dues accounts and keep accounts in "good standing."